Confessions of a Woman Who Settled

*Stands in front of a support group*

Confession: My name is Mimi and am an Ex- Woman Who Settled

“hi Mimi”

I have dated every type of man imaginable from the:

  • Liar/Cheater
  • Physical & emotional Abuser
  • Cry-baby
  • Momma’s boy
  • Insecure crazy type
  • Marine psycho killer
  • Wanna-be player
  • No Ambition/goals
  •  & Druggie

Just to name a few. Clearly my standards were not set as high as they should have been. At one point I had amazing standards, but of course no one came close to what I visualized and predicted to be my dream man. One guy friend even told me,

“Either you need to lower your standards or your just never going to have someone who will give you the love and attention you need.”

EXCUSE ME.SAY WHAT? After vocalizing my opinion with him in language that was far from polite, I came to the conclusion that I was turning into the woman who settled.

The Woman Who Settles- In Mimi’s Dictionary this is defined as a woman who is willing to put up with least than what she deserves to gain attention/affection from someone of the opposite sex.

Where does this come from? Many would say insecurities and I must say I agree to some extent. In the past I was the most insecure little thing out there. I would eat up compliments and fall for anything as long as they ‘seemed nice’. Well that was a destructive journey of heartache and abuse. My soul was beyond weak, but it finally came a time when I had to say enough is enough.

I looked in the mirror and started seeing myself as a woman of POWER. A woman created to be more than average, destined to be a conqueror. I have royal blood in my veins and each and every morning I rise for the purpose of greatness.

Clearly these less than perfect men weren’t meant to be a part of my destiny in the long run, but they did teach me a thing or two about what I will and will not tolerate. Each and every one of them were lessons learned. I now am more aware of warning signs when it comes to the crazy type. I’m no psychic, but from nurturing my mind body and soul again my intuition has been helping me along the way.

I’ve come across some nice guys, but again I refuse to settle. So until the man comes a long who can grow with me, encourage me, and has goals vision and spirituality, just to name a few. I’m content with waiting and enjoying my own company.

After all who knows me more than me? I think i’m pretty bad ass…;)

One thought on “Confessions of a Woman Who Settled

Leave a comment