ITCHY SCALP..Clean it up..

20130621_160623

I started doing my research on essentials oils that are beneficial to hair growth and maintenance. I was suffering from flaky scalp and sometimes even burning of the scalp. Being natural, I tend to use too many products all at once. My scalp ultimately was suffering as a result of my indecisiveness of hair products. A good friend of mine suggested taking a break from clumping on hair products and take better care of my scalp. Thus, peppermint oil came to my attention.

There are many benefits of using peppermint oil for hair. It acts as a coolant and is effective in keeping the scalp cool. It is an effective anti dandruff treatment and can also keep lice away from your hair. If you have dry scalp, the oil can be an effective remedy as it balances the pH. The soothing fragrance can be quite refreshing and is definitely better than the artificial fragrances associated with ordinary hair oils.

Peppermint oil is known to stimulate hair follicles and thus promotes hair growth. Research shows that it is an effective remedy for hair loss as it binds the hair roots and improves scalp stimulation by increasing blood circulation. Another potent formula that promotes hair growth is a mixture of peppermint oil, glycerine and jojoba oil.”  -via http://www.longhaircareforum.com/showthread.php?t=624523

Peppermint oil is very strong straight out of the bottle so you MUST dilute it with water.

1.use a spray bottle and add about 10-15 drops to a cup and a half of water.

2.section the hair and spray scalp with the solution and massage it in with the tip of your fingers (not nails).

3. put a shower cap on and let the peppermint stay on the scalp for 30mins.

4. After 30mins rinse w. cool water.

I use peppermint oil once a week or whenever my scalp has a lot of dandruff.

Let me know how you use peppermint oil.

Different ways work for different people. EXPERIMENT.

 

You can buy essential oils at most organic and whole food stores.

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/aroma/ess.html is an amazing site where you can buy essential oils as well as herbs and spices.